GUEST REVIEWS 

 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a wonderful family reunion with 3 adult children and their spouses and a grandchild. Our stay was perfectly wonderful in this great house. The location is fantastic, set back off a main road which makes it quiet, and a very spacious outdoor living area that easily accommodated everyone. The beach front location was perfect for viewing the nightly sunsets and the changing of tides. We enjoyed watching 2 bald eagles fish for breakfast every morning. Very highly recommended!

Submitted: Aug 15, 2015
 
Stayed: Jul 2015
 
Source: VRBO, from HomeAwayOwner's Response: We lived having your family stay with us. We are so glad we could share it with you!
Did you find this review helpful? 

joyce
Snohomish, Wa

HOME AGAIN

 5 of 5

Our Girls Getaway began 20 years ago at the Whidbey Island home of one of our aunts. It was so successful we decided to continue indefinitely. After 5 years at Auntie's we began to look for other beach houses. We tried several until we found Mutiny Bay Getaway. After 3 Getaways we thought we would explore other beaches on the Island. But nothing could compare! So back we came to Mutiny Bay Getaway! Mutiny Bay is the absolute best beach on Whidbey and this delightful home is right in the center of the bay. The entire beach is sand from point to point. Being on the West side of the Island the water is calm and the weather is almost always mild. Our Get-Aways are in February; but even then the weather has always been remarkable!

The home is large with plenty of sleeping options and enough bathrooms for 12 girls! The kitchen is fully equipped and the table seats 12. It's rare to find a home that comfortably accommodates 12 women ages 20 to 80. We have voted to return again next year - and again, and again.

Special thank you to the owners for making this available to us.

Gaylard Gals

Submitted: Mar 14, 2015
 
Stayed: Feb 2015


Damaris B.

Relaxing and fun

 5 of 5

Our family of 10 came again to share family laughter and love in this beautiful home set against an incredibly beautiful background.

The tide was low every day and the children absolutely loved searching for all kinds of sea creatures in the water and shells as well. We enjoyed our kayaks also, going on the water many times. Last year, we fished for pinks right off our shore on our kayaks. This year, we enjoyed the crabbing and having a fabulous crab feast for two meals.

This home is set up perfectly for all of us. We signed up to come back next year, so it's evident that we love the home and the surroundings and the whole experience! Love it! Love it!

Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
 
Stayed: Aug 2014
 
Gayle M.

WOW! We had a family reunion here and loved it.

 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The house is beautiful, the beach easily accessibly and stunning, we were visited each day by an eagle perched nearby.

Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
 
Stayed: May 2014
 
Source: HomeAwayOwner's Response: Those eagles are so majestic! So glad you enjoyed the spectacular surroundings. There is no place like it that we have found. We hope that you will come back again soon.

CO Kate
Colorado Front Range

Amazing Multi-age Family Vacation Retreat

 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed an amazing vacation at Mutiny Bay in mid-June 2013. The house had perfect accommodations for our two adult kids, their spouses, 2 grandkids (ages 3 and 6), my husband and I. We enjoyed dinners on the outdoor patio with a gorgeous view of the bay and beyond. We toasted marshmallows, watched ships go by, walked the beach, checked out the tide pools, observed herons and bald eagles fishing, played endlessly on the big sandy beach and explored the area towns, markets and historical sites. Oh, we saw some dolphins, too. Even the grocery store is conveniently close. The house is lovely and homeowners Kathy and Michael Gersch are a pleasure to rent from, as well as efficient and professional hosts. They go out of their way to provide useful information to those of us unfamiliar with the surrounding area attractions.

We highly recommend this house and would look forward to returning if and when family schedules allow. Everyone in the family said, “Let’s come here again!”

Submitted: Aug 28, 2013
 
Stayed: Jun 2013
 
Michael H.

You'll keep coming back again and again

 5 of 5

This is the second year we have had the great pleasure of staying at the Mutiny Bay getaway. The last two years we have had our family vacations (kids, grandkids, and us grandparents, 10 in all. Within hours of our 1st visit, both of our sons and their wives asked if we could come back again next year and we did. We spent even more time on Mutiny bay this year (12 days) and were in heaven from the moment we arrived. The accommodations are comfortable and spacious. There is plenty of room for privacy and quiet and socializing as a family. The Gersch’s have a number of items for the grandkids, like booster seats, highchairs, toys, videos, and books. The kitchen is big enough for families to do all the cooking needed. Then there’s the beach…it is a kid’s dream, 20 feet from the house, sugar sand, plenty of water for making sand castles, and a patio to play on. We timed our visit this year to coincide with very low tides and just east of the house is a great area for tide pooling; we found, flounder, eels, lots of varieties of crabs, moon snails, goeducks, sea slugs, spiny sea urchins, nudibranchs, and more…all the while a local pair of adult bald eagles hang out on the pilings of the pier to the south. The sun rises and sun sets, sounds of boat/ship traffic, and the lapping of the waves to go to sleep by make this one great place to stay…we’ll be back next year too!!!

Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
 
Stayed: Jul 2013
Eric
Seattle, WA

Outstanding for the Holiday

 5 of 5

We rented this house for the Thanksgiving weekend. We had 9 people staying in the house. The kitchen was large enough for 4 people to cook.

The house was everything as advertised. 4 bedrooms, right on the beach, nice deck, and wonderful sunsets. We were able to spend a cold night outside around the fire pit on the deck. The kitchen was large and well equipped for serious cooking. 2 minor comments, one of the bedrooms had 2 bunk beds and is most approriate for children. The other 3 bedrooms were large, pleasant, and good for couples. The television and DVD were complicated to figured out and instructions would have been helpful. Overall, very highly satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend.

Submitted: Dec 8, 2012
 
Stayed: Nov 2012
 
WinnieLou
Kirkland

Wonderful time and wonderful memories

 5 of 5

My husband and I, along with our two children ages 10 & 12 rented this house to spend our Thanksgiving holiday last year 2009. We had a wonderful stay, the house was warm and comfortable, very spacious and they kids enjoyed the beach even though it was cooler temperatures. The best part about it for me, was the kitchen, since my main goal was to prepare the Thanksgiving dinner. The house was well stocked with all the essential kitchen gadgets and I was able to cook to my hearts content. We would love to come back and stay another time when the weather is warmer and the kids can swim and fish. Thanks for a great stay and the great memories of our Thanksgiving on Whidbey Island.

Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
 
Stayed: Nov 2009
 
J.A.L.
Steamboat Springs, CO

Great views, comfortable and spacious.

 5 of 5

What a wonderful place to vacation! This property was spacious and very comfortable. The views were gorgeous and being on the water was so relaxing. We spent only a weekend for my nephew's wedding but would like to go back for an extended vacation. We were all sad to leave it. It will be great for future family reunions or for a girl's weekend getaway.

Submitted: Mar 25, 2010
 
Stayed: Sep 2009
 
Natasha5
Seattle, WA

We loved it here! The ho...

 5 of 5

We loved it here! The house is wonderful, very clean, very comfortable and such a treat! The view is amazing from the living room AND EVERY bedroom! The set up is perfect for enjoying time with the 'grown-ups' sitting around the table, and for the kids playing games and exploring.

The owners were so helpful and welcoming in setting up our visit, and providing us with great information.

We were sad to leave; I would love to stay here again. Thank you for everything.

Submitted: Dec 8, 2009
 
Stayed: Dec 2009
 
Darci R.
Salt Lake City, UT

Perfect in EVERY way!!!

 5 of 5

I recently rented out this property for a 3-day weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday! I have many fond childhood memories of Whidbey and Mutiny Bay and couldn't wait to relive some of them and share this beautiful spot with family and friends. This is a LOVELY home, clean and well appointed.

The greatest thing about this home is that it is ON THE BEACH! There are several rental properties on Whidbey, but few have beach access such as this! It was absolutely amazing! It was so great to feel as though you were a million miles away, yet there is a full-size grocery store 2 minutes away. Everyone agreed that it was a small slice of heaven to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of crashing waves! It just doesn't get any better than this!

We were all thoroughly impressed with the accommodations! I would highly recommend this property to anyone! It's a wonderful spot year-round!

Submitted: Mar 11, 2009
 
Stayed: Feb 2009

HAC172181
Seattle, WA

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

Enjoyed 4 wonderful nights to celebrate a 50th birthday. The house has EVERYTHING we needed and is more than fully stocked. 3 barbeque's, every sort of kitchen gadget, entertainment center, beach chairs and toys for kids, very nice linens, shampoo and hair-dryer's. Just like a hotel but with privacy and space. Every room has a view. We had 9 adults and everyone had very comfortable sleeping arrangements and the house never felt crowded. It helped that the weather was unusually sunny for Sept. but would have been nice if stormy as well. A perfect getaway for friends and families. Thank you!

Submitted: Oct 19, 2008
 
Stayed: Sep 2008
 
HAC166437
seattle, wa

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

We had have now stayed in this wonderful home on two occasions. Both are great memories with our kids and friends that we will have forever. I can't say enough about what a perfect spot this was.

We'll be back.

Submitted: Sep 12, 2008
 
Stayed: Aug 2008
 
HAC163603
Seattle

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! With walks on the beach and time spent relaxing in the house, we couldn't have asked for better spot for a long weekend. There were 12 of us, and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was terrific for cooking big meals, and the fully stocked kitchen made it easy. Thanks so much - we'll be back!

Submitted: Aug 29, 2008
 
Stayed: Jul 2008
 
HAC149672
Gates Mills, OH

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

What a wonderful vacation my family and I enjoyed in your beautiful beach house. Wonderful walks on the beach, sensational sunsets, the warmth of the fire pit and wonderful meals both there and at some fabulous restaurants. You offered all of the amenities we needed. As your sign over the back door says, we indeed made wonderful memories. Thank you!

Submitted: Jul 4, 2008
 
Stayed: Jun 2008
 
HAC149489
Issaquah, WA

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

Every sunset I just knew I had to call the owner and share what she was "missing", but I was so captivated by that 90 minute display of amazing color that I never got the call in! Wow!

We had a great time and everything was perfect! Thank you so very much for all the attention to amenities. The kids had an amazing time with the beach and the adults were in awe of the eagles, peace and quiet and the sunsets! I could go on and on.

We will be back!

Submitted: Jul 3, 2008
 
Stayed: Jun 2008
 
HAC135516
Hollywood, Fl

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

Our family stayed here for our sisters Fortieth birthday party at the end of March and it was perfect. Everyone young and old-er were very happy and loved the spectacular views. The mornings were not to be believed with the sunrise and the kids could not stop playing on the beach. The house is amazing with fireplace and cozy kitchen. The bedrooms were perfect for us all and everyone was well taken care of. We will absolutely want to visit again. Thanks for everything.

Submitted: Apr 18, 2008
 
Stayed: Mar 2008
 
Rick_HAC67960
Orange County, CA

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

My family and I stayed in the house in early October for my sister's 50th birthday. The house was absolutely perfect. Located right on a sandy beach with beautiful views of the Cascades and shipping lanes. Kathy was incredibly helpful in all aspects and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. It was a trip we will never forget as we look forward to our next visit.

Submitted: Nov 1, 2006
 
Stayed: Oct 2006
 
april Nakaoka
Los Alamos, NM

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

Fabulous house with everything you need for a perfect vacation! Very well equipped kitchen, clean and comfy home, great beach, deck, backyard with garden, very quite and serene. We had a wonderful family reunion and would love to visit again!

The Nakaoka's

Submitted: Jul 24, 2006
 
Stayed: Jun 2006
 
Sarah Knowles
Brookfield WI

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

We had a fabulous week here, so relaxing, with our family from England. The views (especially at sunset) were spectacular. We didn't want to go back home! There is everything you could possibly need here and shops and restaurants close by. Try wine tasting and fruit pies at Greenbank Farm.

Submitted: Jul 14, 2006
 
Stayed: Jun 2006
 
HAC37085
Seattle

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

Wonderful Weekend. Right on the beach and the kids loved playing in the sand. You can fish. Very well kept. Easy to fit several famalies

Submitted: Sep 10, 2005
 
Stayed: Aug 2005
 
Kathy_HAC37071
Mercer Island, WA

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

We spent a fun weekend at the Mutiny Bay Getaway. It's a beautifully remodeled luxury getaway, complete with 100' of no-bank waterfront. The kids couldn't get enough of the beach, boats and crabbing in the Sound. We awoke to waves lapping on the beach, and went to sleep after bonfires and s'mores in the evening. A lovely weekend.

Submitted: Sep 10, 2005
 
Stayed: Aug 2005

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

What a great place! It is beautifully furnished in a sunny beach cottage theme. Everything we needed was available, so all we needed was a few pair of shorts, sandles and a swimsuit! One evening we even dug a hole in the sand for a "true, authentic Northeast Crab and clambake!" It is so great to sit in the living room, enjoy our compny, and still be able to watch the kids playing on the beach. The only downside was that we couldn't get the kids to come in at nite! We will definately be reccommending this property to others and hope that it doesn't get so popular that we are not able to get a spot reserved for us to go back again!

Submitted: Sep 9, 2005
 
Stayed: Aug 2005
 
Brian_HAC31675
Not Specified

Guestbook Comment

 5 of 5

A great house and fabulous beach and views! Excellent for kids and lots of room and things to do. Highly recommended!

Submitted: Jun 30, 2005
 
Stayed: May 2005
 

BEACHFRONT VACATION HOME

Mutiny Bay Getaway